Surprising Places Gluten Lurks

From Amy Myers, MD. 

Whether you’re a gluten-free God or Goddess, or are new to the scene, it can be a tough and confusing world out there. I personally have been fooled a time or two which is why I want to reinforce this information I have posted about before. I hope the list below will help to arm you with the right resources to stay healthy, happy and gluten free.

1. Body and beauty products: Lipstick, toothpaste, body lotion, shampoo, soap, conditioner, baby powder and sunscreen can all contain gluten.

2. Medications, supplements and herbal formulas: Many of these have fillers like dextrin, which can come from corn or wheat.  There are several websites, such as this one, that list gluten-free medications. All supplements that we have on my online store are gluten-free.

3. Play-Doh and paints: Play-Doh is made from wheat flour, salt and water, and many paints also have wheat-derived ingredients.

4. Sauces and condiments: Ketchup, mayonnaise, mustard, tomato sauce, gravy and salad dressings can all contain gluten.

5. Scrambled eggs: Some restaurants add pancake batter to make eggs, or buy packaged egg products that already contain batter in order to make the eggs fluffier. The waiter, or even chef, may be unaware they’re using a product that contains wheat or gluten, so make sure to ask questions!

6. Stamps and envelopes: The adhesive that makes stamps and envelopes stick can come from gluten.

7. Luncheon meats, crab and vegan meat substitutes: Wheat can be used a filler in luncheon meats, and of course most beef jerky contains soy sauce. The “crab meat” used in many sushi rolls, like California rolls, is imitation crabmeat and contains wheat as a stabilizer. Many vegan “meats” and veggie burgers are either made from wheat or contain one of the troublesome 20 ingredients.

8. Alcohol: Beer contains gluten, of course, but distilled liquors such as vodka can also be made from wheat. Depending on your sensitivity, you may need to steer clear of these. 

9. Mashed potatoes: Flour is sometimes added to thicken mashed potatoes.

10. Candy: You must read the ingredients! Licorice and many other solid candies are made from wheat flour.

Want to learn more? Take my Guide to the Gut and Comprehensive Elimination Diet eCourses! These courses outline my method in diagnosing and treating gut infections in order to achieve optimal gut health. If headaches, seasonal allergies, and gastrointestinal issues (like IBS) have you looking for a solution, the basic protocol outlined in these eCourses will help to resolve those issues. If you suffer from an autoimmune disease, chronic fatigue, or candida overgrowth, these eCourses have a specialized protocol designed for you.

Check out this guide, then make these gluten free recipes

The New Potato and its materials are not intended to treat, diagnose, cure or prevent any disease or ailment.
All content on The New Potato (even when supplied by a medical professional) is intended for educational and conversational purposes only. Always seek the advice of your physician or healthcare provider before beginning any new diet, exercise regime, or wellness routine.